Mr. & Mrs. Frank Altschul at the dedication of the Overbrook Nature Center.
While the emphasis was on nature when the Museum was on 300 Main Street, the move to Courtland Park opened up a whole new range of activities. Outdoor classes in the summer incorporated the natural surroundings and the Museum's own animals, classes and programs in art, astronomy, and weather were added to the existing nature classes.
After the move to Scofieldtown Road, the opportunities seemed endless. The unique natural qualities of the site were a challenge that the staff met with enthusiasm and creativity. With the help of Boy Scouts, nature trails were forged through the woods, providing access to flora and fauna on the trails, pond and stream. Classes and programs were developed such as Owl Prowl, Hawk Talk, and Warbler Walk and became annual events. In May 1957, the Museum received a donation from Mr. & Mrs. Frank Altschul for a new building to be called the Overbrook Natural Science Center. Here classrooms were combined with displays which complemented the natural exhibits on museum grounds. A variety of long- and short-term exhibits on natural science and natural history were installed over the years.